Felony Death by Vehicle

North Carolina and South Carolina

Charlotte Felony Death Lawyer

Fatal accidents can happen in the blink of an eye. Whether you’re tired, distracted, or simply in the wrong place at the wrong time, your life can change forever if you’re involved in a serious car accident. If you’re facing a charge of vehicular homicide or involuntary manslaughter in Charlotte, click here now to speak to an experienced Charlotte criminal defense lawyer. Death by vehicle charges can carry many long-term consequences, including jail time, heavy fines, and the loss of your license. There is also a great social stigma attached to death by vehicle charges in North Carolina, as they often involve alcohol, drugs, or careless driving. Even if the accident was not intentional, the penalties could still be severe. It is crucial that you seek the advice of an experienced Charlotte criminal defense attorney as soon as possible.

Felony Death by Vehicle Charges in North Carolina

If you kill someone while driving a vehicle, you could face the following charges:

Involuntary Manslaughter

Involuntary manslaughter is the unintentional killing of another person as a result of negligent or criminal recklessness. You can be found guilty of involuntary manslaughter if you kill another person by an unlawful act, that is not a felony and not usually dangerous to life.

Vehicular Homicide

Vehicular homicide in North Carolina is the unintentional death of another person caused by illegal driving. This can be anything from driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs to speeding. Vehicular homicide charges can range from a Class A1 misdemeanor to a Class D felony. If you’re involved in a vehicular homicide you could be charged with the following crimes:

Felony Death by Vehicle

Felony Death by Vehicle is a Class D felony and a serious charge in North Carolina that has far-reaching consequences. You can be charged with Felony Death by Vehicle if you unintentionally cause the death of another person due to impaired driving. It is the state’s job to prove that the proximate cause of death was drunk driving.

Aggravated Felony Death by Vehicle

Aggravated felony death by vehicle is similar to felony death by vehicle charge; however, the defendant has previously been convicted with a crime that involved impaired driving, within the past seven years. Aggravated Felony Death by Vehicle is a Class D felony; however, due to it’s aggravated nature, the punishment is typically more severe.

Misdemeanor Death by Vehicle

A person can be charged with misdemeanor death by vehicle in North Carolina if they unintentionally cause the end of another person while engaging in a violation of state law or local ordinance. For example, if a person is speeding and causes the death of another, they could be charged with misdemeanor death by vehicle.

What Are The Penalties of Causing A Death While Driving in North Carolina?

Involuntary manslaughter - Involuntary manslaughter is a Class F felony, and the sentence you receive depends on your previous criminal record and can range from 10 months to 41 months. Felony Death by Vehicle - Felony Death by Vehicle is a class D felony, and the sentence you receive depends on your previous criminal record and can range from 36 months to 160 months.

Aggravated Felony Death by Vehicle - Aggravated Felony Death by Vehicle is a class D felony, and the sentence you receive depends on your previous criminal record and can range from 36 months to 160 months, however, due to the aggravating factors tends to be more severe.

Misdemeanor Death by Vehicle - Misdemeanor Death by Vehicle is a class A1 misdemeanor and can carry up to a 150-day sentence in jail, as well as fines in any amount deemed appropriate by the judge.

Why Is It Important To Hire A Charlotte Vehicular Homicide Lawyer?

The dedicated criminal defense lawyers of Snow Legal will review and investigate every aspect of your case, to devise an effective legal strategy for your defense. If you are found guilty, many factors will be considered by a judge when determining to sentence for vehicular manslaughter. Your prior driving record, previous criminal history, your employment status, and the circumstances surrounding the incident will all be used to make a decision. The Charlotte criminal defense attorneys of Snow Legal will collect any evidence that could minimize the severity of the offense, to try and ensure that the punishment you face is lessened.

Why Choose The Vehicular Homicide Defense Lawyers at Snow Legal?

The dedicated Charlotte criminal defense attorneys at Snow Legal have a proven success record. We have experienced vehicular homicide defense attorneys who will fight tirelessly against the charges you face.

Not every Charlotte criminal defense lawyer is created equal, and choosing the wrong one can be detrimental to your case. If you’re facing a charge of felony death by vehicle in Mecklenburg County, or elsewhere in North Carolina, speak to one of our experienced Charlotte criminal defense attorneys today to begin building your defense.