Charlotte Drug Lawyer
If you have been charged, or are currently being investigated for the possession of a controlled substance in North Carolina, you should speak to an experienced Charlotte drug lawyer immediately. Being found guilty of drug possession with the intent to manufacture, sell, or distribute is a severe felony crime in North Carolina, and could result in a lengthy prison sentence.
Drug Charges In North CarolinaIf you have been arrested for possession of a controlled substance, the drug charge you face in North Carolina will depend on the classification of the drug category, and the amount you had in your possession.
A “controlled substance” is defined as a chemical or a drug that is regulated by the federal government. Controlled substances are categorized according to how hazardous or harmless they are.
Schedule I: Schedule I drugs have a very high for abuse and are likely to lead to physical and/or psychological dependence. Examples include heroin and opiates.
Schedule II: Schedule II drugs have a high potential of being abused, and users who abuse them are highly likely to become physically and/or psychologically dependent. Examples include cocaine, hydrocodone, morphine, methamphetamine, and ritalin.
Schedule III: Schedule III drugs have the potential for abuse, but are less likely to be abused than schedule I and II drugs. Users who abuse the drugs are likely to have a psychological dependence on them. Examples include certain barbiturates, anabolic steroids, and ketamine.
Schedule IV: Schedule IV drugs have a lower potential for abuse, but repeated use could lead to a physical and/or psychological dependence. Examples include Xanax, valium, and clonazepam.
Schedule V: Schedule V drugs have a lower potential for abuse, and users may develop a limited psychological and/or physical dependence. Examples include certain over the counter medicines that contain codeine.
Schedule VI: Schedule VI drugs have an extremely low potential for abuse. Examples include marijuana and hashish.
According to North Carolina law, if you knowingly possess a controlled substance with the intent to manufacture, sell, or deliver it, you are committing a felony.
Penalties For The Possession Of A Controlled Substance In North Carolina
Possession of a schedule I or II controlled substance with the intent to manufacture, sell, or deliver it, is a class H felony according to North Carolina law. If found guilty of a class H felony, you could face up to 39 months in prison.
Possession of a schedule III, IV, V, or VI controlled substance with the intent to manufacture, sell, or deliver it, is a class I felony according to North Carolina law. If found guilty of a class H felony, you could face up to 24 months in prison.